Mothering Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
160 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
<p>let me start with I am not a fan of doctors due to the many misdiagnosis and pill pushers amoungst other things and only use doctors as an absolute last resort.  So I thought I might ask some mommas on here what they think. My ds is 3years and 10 months old. He is a very bright and loving boy. But I have been worried for awhile now about his development. I was a preschool teacher for many years before I had children so I can't help but compare his development to other children I have dealt with. I guess the best way to describe is to just list some othe worrisome things. First, he did not start walking till 18 months old. I know that is late but it is not unheard of. He is a VERY big boy and was born a chunk so we figured it just took him time to bear all that weight.  Anyway he walks/runs fine now. motor skills are great can write, draw, and cut with scissors. He mastered the potty at 2 but oddly enough still cannot pull down or up his pants to potty and cannot dress himself.  His language development seemed right on target, he was saying alot of words very young, now that he is three almost four it seems all he does is repeat. I know that echolalia is a phase but can also be something more. Example I ask him, "do you want a cookie?" He says, "you want a cookie? yes!"  another example, "Do you have to go potty?" he says, "You have to go potty? Yes!"  he will also come and tell me he wants a drink or something but will say, "You want a drink"  The boy can repeat almost an entire episode of one of his favorite shows. And has memorized many of his books and can qoute them. He never asks "why" questions. and rarely asks "what" or "who" questions aside from "ohh whats that?" but again that is something he has heard me ask him. He doesn't seem to say anything unless it is something he has heard before.  He doesn't conversate.  He can be very emotional at times for what seems to be n