Mothering Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi ladies,

Please. Help. Me! (Sorry in advance for the super long post)....

I really am at the end of my rope here. My son is 10.5 months old, and has been constipated for several months or longer. I have tried EVERYTHING I can think of and spent lots of money trying to resolve this issue, and I just can't think of anything else being the culprit except ECing. I have tried every diet change under the sun for him and myself with no change in his bowel movements. I've tried taking my son to the chiropractor, the naturopath, and the homeopath. He's been on multiple probiotics. I've tried daily massages, water, oil, etc. He's only ever had breast milk (no formula). Nothing has made a difference. This has been so incredibly frustrating, and heartbreaking. I hate seeing my son in pain.

I've been doing EC with my son since he was about 4 months old. I've always done it as a no pressure thing. I just thought I'd try catching some pees and that it would help him to potty train sooner. He loved sitting on the potty right from the start, and within several weeks he would try to go whenever I sat him on the potty and cued him in (mostly pee).
Eventually he started surprising me and pooping on the potty! He'd go poo every 3rd day or so. I can't even remember when, but his frequency in poops decreased a lot over time, but everyone assured me that was normal in breastfed babies. I didn't start getting worried until around 7 months when I introduced solid foods. That's when I knew he was constipated. He would cry and strain, and although I backed off on the solids and we introduced them really slowly, every time he went poo he seemed uncomfortable. He also mainly only had fruits and vegetables, and not much! It seemed odd to me that he would be constipated just from those foods (and I stayed away from all the constipated fruits and vegetables).