Mothering Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
538 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My dh was diagnosed with Ulcerative Colitis about 3 years ago. He has been on some sort of medication ever since and even with the meds, he would have flare ups but would eventually get back to 'normal'. Well, this year, he has not been better and its been months. He is basically stuck at home because of this condition. He practically lives in the bathroom [
] Obviously, this has been a huge strain on us since I WOH and provide most of the income but he is responsible for his older children's insurance and child support. Which his employer covers 100% of the insurance for which we are very grateful! But I cannot see his employer keeping him on forever without him working... I'm an HR Manager and I can tell you his company doesn't qualify for FLMA (small employer). He also had no paid time off via his company. We both have $$ in retirement accts we'd rather not touch [
]

I think that's enough background... Here are the issues that I'm struggling with:

1) Money - I'm going to need to get a second job because dh was able to at least buy our food but that's just not happening...
2) Daycare - I'm not willing to send ds to daycare if dh is going to be home all day... albeit, in the bathroom most of the time but still. We'd save $185/week if dh would watch ds.
3) Clearly, dh is struggling with the whole 'manhood' issue...not providing for his family is getting him really down.
4) He's home all the time but not helping out around the house as much as he could...

If anyone has any tips/suggestions for tactful ways to broach the above issues that I have PLEASE either PM me or post some responses!

·
Registered
551 Posts
Gosh I don't know or have any advice, but I sure hope he gets better soon! That is no way to live. Maybe the meds aren't correct for him? Maybe they need adjusting? Something has to be done, he will have no life in the bathroom sick all the time.