Mothering Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need help figuring out what to do with this diaper rash. My daughter is only three weeks old and she has little red bumps on her bum and also on her labia. They look like pimples. It's been fairly consistent, not really going away, but not worsening. She's been in cloth diapers since she was about a day and a half old. I've tried changing her more, putting Burt's Bees Baby Bee ointment on her bum and sometimes switching off with Aquaphor. I'm wiping her with a clean, wet wipe each time. I ordered a Sugar Peas wool cover and try to keep her in that as much as I can to let air get to her skin.<br><br>
My mom is telling me I should put her in disposables and it would clear up. Both my stubborness and real commitment to using cloth have me desperate to find a way to clear this up. Any ideas?<br><br>
Thanks--<br>
Beth

·
Registered
1,552 Posts
I have no experience with yeast infections in babies, but I know they're common. If it doesn't go away, maybe a visit to your ped could help rule that out?<br><br>
An idea: what are you washing the dipes in? Is it possible she's allergic?<br><br>
In the meantime, keep your babe dipe-free as much as possible. Put her on a towel, or a waterproof mattress pad, or something you don't mind getting all messy, for as long as she'll tolerate it. That's the best way to clear up rashes!<br><br>
Oh, the other thing is make sure her bum is COMPLETELY dry before you put anything on it. Otherwise it makes it worse.<br><br>
Hope the rash goes away soon!

·
Registered
5,329 Posts
It sounds like it might be yeast, which would have nothing to do with CDs. Are you BFing? If so, she's probably gotten it from you (this is VERY common). Some people have had good luck with making a paste of acidolphilus powder and applying that directly to the area. You can also try Lotrimin AF over the counter -- use that liberally several times per day.<br><br>
HTH!

·