Mothering Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
165 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! My problem isn't a major one in the big scheme of things, but I am curious how others deal with their partner's different philosophies on toys/tv/etc. I am newly pregnant, and my husband is very involved and supportive BUT i can already see we are going to have a lil' trouble dealing with the world of kid materialism.

He is all gung-ho about licenced products (e.g. Disney) or plastic "stuff" whereas I am much more Waldorf...open ended and natural materials. He thinks I am being crazy hippy. It isn't that I won't allow our future progeny to watch Star Wars or Frozen, but I don't want toys that require no imagination. I am a teacher, I see what a lack of imagination does to kids. I want my kiddos to be able to play as enthusiastically with a stick as they do a licensed figurine.

How do you balance two different philosophies such as this in your home?

·
Registered
4,169 Posts
It is really quite difficult to prevent a child from imaginative play. Parents who do so typically have very serious overriding concerns that they are dealing with. You can sit your child in front of the tv all day, every day, but you would generally only make the effort (it is a big effort, especially with very young children) because of a very big problem, like gang violence in the neighborhood, or inability to afford safe childcare from providers who would be willing and able to take your child outside, or a major parental health problem. (We got our family through my cancer with lots of help from the DCAU and Marvel franchise action movies.)

Kids don't play the same games with sticks that they play with action figures, but children with access to sticks inevitably choose to play with them. Action figures with no imagination applied are a good deal duller than dirt. Action figure games tend to have strong social components, and fewer physical injuries. Usually.

·
Registered
11,576 Posts