Mothering Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2,490 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm completely new to the idea of co-ops. I'm wondering if it's standard for parent-led co-ops to be organized into grade level classes? There are so many co-ops in my area and I'm wondering if I can expect this type of organization. I have a child who does not fit into a grade level across the board, so, on the surface, it seems problematic. What do you do if you think your child belongs in a higher grade level class? Would that, typically, be a difficult thing to negotiate? Again, I'm really new to co-ops. I'm just researching options in my area. I was surprised at how "school-like" the co-ops seem to be, at least on the surface.

·
Registered
4,560 Posts
We participate in a one morning a week coop that we really love. Class topics are brainstormed 2x a year and taught by folks based on interest. The breakdown is this:

2-3 year olds (craft, story, play)
4-5 year olds (craft, story, play)
5-7 year olds (topics)
8-10 year olds (topics)
11 and up (topics)

If a kid wants to attend a class in an age grouping greater than their own, they (or the parent) talk to the teacher. Often, when bumping up an age the parent attends along with the kid. There are two 1-hour sessions and playground time. It runs 8 weeks with a 9th session of potlucking, playing and sharing performances.

We skipped the coop until dd1 was turning 5. Dp is teaching a class to the 5-7's this next time on "Ancient Science" with ideas from this book: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/047...901423?ie=UTF8

Some coops in our area (the ones I'm familiar with are restricted to conservative Christians) are structured like part-time schools. I think those have grade levels assigned.

·
Registered
529 Posts