Mothering Forum banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

· Registered
407 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Not sure if this is the right place to post this...

http://www.wilmingtonstar.com/apps/p.../NEWS/50604016

A few bits from the article

"Dr. Sandland - known for the past decade as the doctor local women went to if they desired natural, vaginal deliveries - moved to Mississippi last week after being told by New Hanover Regional Medical Center administrators to do more c-sections.

Considered major abdominal surgery with complications that can lead to death, c-sections became used more commonly for abnormally positioned babies or when the mother or baby is in distress. During a c-section, mothers are given anesthesia, an incision is made through muscles of the abdomen, organs are moved aside and the baby is pulled from a cut in the uterus.

"I've always maintained I'm a midwife with a MD behind my name," she said from her two-story Pine Valley home last week while preparing to move. "It's better for Mother Nature to decide when it's time, not the doctor. My philosophy is you don't interfere unless you really have to."

Her philosophy, admittedly different from the mainstream, attracted many patients who wanted the best chance of having a vaginal delivery. Dr. Sandland became known as one of the few doctors in the area who would try to deliver breech babies naturally or pursue a vaginal birth with a woman who already had one child with a c-section. Her solo practice boomed.

If her lack of medical malpractice lawsuits and gratitude of patients are of any account, she was not only popular, but also successful.

But the Star-News viewed two letters addressed to her from committee members. Written on New Hanover Regional letterhead dated July 6 and July 7, 2004, the letters discuss the conversation committee members had with her.