Mothering Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! My name is Barbara, and I'm a freelance parenting writer based in Northern Virginia.

I'm doing research for an article about parents who don't have their kids do chores, or at least don't assign them specific chores. I'd love to talk to any parents here who fit that description about their decisions, and how it's working in your home. I look forward to hearing from you!

·
Registered
866 Posts
My son is only five but so far we have not assigned chores. Right now, I just ask him to do small things now and then. For example, I ask him "please go put your shoes in your room" or "please feed the dogs." And we use a star chart to encourage positive behaviors. For example, "he earns a star for doing his bedtime routine and another star for reading a book (yes, he can read). We're going to start an allowance soon and we are not tying it to chores. He just gets money for being part of the family, money he can spend on his own desires. We haven't started that though. If we ever do chores they will not be called chores. They'll be called something like family responsibilities or household duties or just tasks.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Hello! My name is Barbara, and I'm a freelance parenting writer based in Northern Virginia.

I'm doing research for an article about parents who don't have their kids do chores, or at least don't assign them specific chores. I'd love to talk to any parents here who fit that description about their decisions, and how it's working in your home. I look forward to hearing from you!