Mothering Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Banned
3,341 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
DH wants our son to get vacced eventually. Recent threads have opened my eyes to the fact that reactions still occur in children up to five years old. (I am an idiot, I know. I'm still learning and a lot of the good information just goes over my head, the scientific papers and reports just make my head spin sometimes) So, I was hoping you mama's could help me out with stories, links, and book suggestions dealing with older children and vaccines.<br><br>
TIA, Kelly

·
Registered
1,458 Posts
My father was in his upper 50's when he received his tetanus shot and lost the use of his arm the day after for a year until therapy brought it back. Upon reading the effects of a tetanus shot, this is actually a well known side effect that his doc said could not happen.<br><br>
It is very hard to pinpoint when toxins can be at their worst and have their effect. I'm not sure anyone can tell you that with any surety. No one is immune, they just get lucky if they don't get a reaction. After watching over my daughter in the hospital after her seizure after her shots, I decided the game of russian roulette with toxins was not to be played.<br><br>
You may wish to check out this internet show coming up this wednesday on shots:<br><br><a href="http://www.mothering.com/discussions/showthread.php?t=356836" target="_blank">http://www.mothering.com/discussions...d.php?t=356836</a>

·
Registered
42,824 Posts
Well, if your dh wants to vax I would suggest that HE provide info on what vaxes he thinks are important (many diseases are not dangerous in children, just infants) and the risks. I think it would be really silly to "fully" vax an older child. No reason to risk reactions from vaxs that aren't "important" ya know?<br><br>
-Angela

·
Registered
1,028 Posts