Mothering Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
5,004 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Watching 'mainstream' parents on TV? I'm kinda new to all the AP stuff...I'm just beginning to notice this!

Like this morning, watching a show about moms with twins while getting ready for work....one scene was mom (dad away in military) and neighbor with newborn twins, mom is trying to eat, babies are crying......and the neighbor is sitting there bouncing the seat.......I'm thinking "PICK THAT BABY UP!"

And another scene was a mom pregnant with twins with a set of 2/yo twins saying how hard it was to get the 2/yo twins to go to bed......they wanted Mommy with them. Um........the 'old pre-kid' me never would've said this, but easy solution, FAMILY BED they'll get sick of it eventually.......or a mat in your room anyway.

·
Registered
4,825 Posts
Yeah, it gets bothersome. I see and hear it in real life too. I try to understand that other people may have other things going on and I don't have any idea why they're doing things the way they are. Also, I have a 3.5 year old who has never been easy to get to bed and my 1 year old is starting to be the same way. We've always had a family bed. So, the family bed doesn't make it easier to get them to sleep.

·
Registered
10,284 Posts
recent IRL frustration like that - friend brought her one month old over to see my newborn and brought dinner, etc. Her baby was fussing because she was hungry, and she said 'I told you if you let me eat then you'll get to eat' or something like that. I just wanted to scream shouldn't it be the other way around?

·
Registered
5,004 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·