Mothering Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2,715 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I am 3 years into my bachelors program in Maternal/Child Health: Lactation Consulting. I am now at the point where I need to accumulate 900 hours of breastfeeding assistance. If anyone out there needs help or might like a personal breastfeeding class, please let me know (PM or email me). I have lots of breastfeeding experience, both as a nursing mother that has overcome all sorts of problems, and as a doula.

Victorian

·
Registered
3,346 Posts
Hi Victorian!
I'm due in May with #1, and I'm pretty freaked out about BF. My sis got horrible infections with 2 of her babies and just couldn't do it. My nipples have always been really sensitive and I can barely touch them now that I'm pg. I think I need to get over my fear and learn to believe that I can do this successfully. Can you help me?

Thanks, mama!

Jenn

·
Registered
2,715 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I would love to help you! Maybe a prenatal class and then help after the birth. Two things jump to mind with what you are saying...infections (mastitis?) and sore nipples would to me seem to be a healthy amount of milk combined with a bad latch that didn't drain the breast. It is very common to have sore nipples during pregnancy (my first sign of pregnancy both times!). That is a great sign that your body is reving up for feeding you baby. Keep in mind that with a great latch, the nipples will be well within the baby's mouth and receive minimal trauma. What soreness there is can be soothed.

PM me and we can talk further and arrange a meeting.

V.

·
Registered
1 Posts