Mothering Forum banner

What did you feel was the most useful prenatal exercises to you during your natural birth?

• yoga

Votes: 16 47.1%
  • meditation/relaxation exercises

Votes: 11 32.4%
  • light cardio/aerobics

Votes: 5 14.7%
  • light weight training

Votes: 2 5.9%
  • kegels

Votes: 9 26.5%
  • other (please explain)

Votes: 8 23.5%
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1,476 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm just getting started tailoring my workout routine to fit an expectant mum and would like to hear from experienced mamas:

What was the most helpful or useful exercise for labor and birth?
What did you wish you worked on more?
What kind of exercise do you think made your recovery easier?
What did you enjoy?

Thanks!

·
Registered
935 Posts
For your poll, I answered meditation/relaxation.

What was the most helpful or useful exercise for labor and birth? Meditation/relaxation.
What did you wish you worked on more? Strength training, especially for my legs.
What kind of exercise do you think made your recovery easier? Kegels
What did you enjoy? Enjoy? I just did it I guess.

·
Registered
2,466 Posts
I've done prenatal yoga with past pregnancies and just started up with it last week during this one (at 26 weeks). I love it. We do kegels, meditation and squats in prenatal yoga. It's aslo been a great way for me to relax and connect with the baby, too. I definitely prefer going to class rather than just doing a video at home. I went to class with my second son and had a wonderful, quick and easy delivery. I was just so much more in tune with my body and was able to simply allow my body to do what it was meant to do.

·
Registered
1,823 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by expat-mama View Post
What was the most helpful or useful exercise for labor and birth?
I would have to say that overall meditation/relaxation was the most useful in terms of labor.

Quote:

What did you wish you worked on more?