Mothering Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1,296 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I really only have a question about my first batch of sauerkraut... but two nights ago it was a question about my first batch of kombucha... I'm a newbie and I have a lot of questions! And if I search the forum, I get 355 hits for "sauerkraut" alone. So I got to thinking that maybe we could have a sticky for "emergencies" and questions that "experts" could be subscribed to so that they could see posts with questions more quickly... I don't know if others think this would be useful, but I know I would! And reading through it would be a sort of "FAQ" for newbies.

In any case... my question is about my 1-2 cups worth of week old sauerkraut sitting on my counter. The cat got up on the counter to get a better view of the raccoons in our yard last night, and knocked over the kraut! As it is my first batch, I don't have a very fancy set up, and so all the brine dribbled out (thoroughly soaking "The Vaccine Book" by Dr. Sears in krauty goodness, by the way
).

I probably could just eat the kraut tomorrow, but would like to ferment it longer. What do I do?

·
Registered
1,296 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
So I don't have to worry about losing a lot of good bacteria w/ the water or the fact that it sat out w/ no water in it for almost 24 hours?

·
Premium Member
11,488 Posts