Mothering Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to this... So hang in there...
I am about 19 weeks pregnant. Have a 4 year old adorable girl born in the water with no drugs in San Diego, CA. It was great but I had to go to the hospital because my placenta retained and I tore really bad with the fast birth. Not sure if I am going all natural this time.
New Jersey is different. No water births, only in your own house (not going that route...)
Going to a midwife at delvalobgyn right now, but not happy with the midwifery service there. Too impersonal... 15 min, you are out... Plus, dont even know my gestational age there, the records are always missing.
Ok, so I dont mind going to a doc or midwife, as long as they care and are personable and agree with a more natural birth (laobring at home, walking around drinking, no shots to the baby, no feet test, no taking away from me etc). I heard docs only show up to pick up your baby... I want to feel connected to the caregivers...
For me pregnancy is such a great event! I only have once a month to really talk to someone knowleadgeable about it, and I dont want to be rushed. I want to be cheered and guided! Yes, the birth is the climax of the pregnancy but hey we are talking almost 10 months here! There is so much to talk about and remember...
Anybody out there with high standards about reproductive care that could recommend a doc or a midwife (or both?) close to the princeton area.
I heard that the mercer hospital is better (more holistic) than Princeton, is it truth?
Thank you for reading. Your suggestions will be greatly apprecciated!

·
Registered
1,085 Posts
Try Pam and Louise at Midwifery Care Associates.. I don't think I ever had an appt that lasted less than 30 minutes with them.(granted, I like to gab!) They don't practice with doctors. They have a small office that looks like a casual living room in Pennington vs a medical facility.