Mothering Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
170 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When is your initial appointment?

What route are you going: midwife, OB, unassisted?

I haven't sheduled my first visit yet, but am hoping to hire a home birth midwife. I'll be making calls later this week.

·
Registered
824 Posts
I see the nurse practitioner at my GP's office this coming Thursday. It'll be mostly discussing how we want to handle my high chance of having ICP again. We don't have midwives here, and I wouldn't do unassisted with my complications. It's just a question of when to start with the OB. Here they usually have you see your family doctor until 30-34 weeks and then the OB, but I may need to be handed off to the OB earlier.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Reactions: valerievalira

·
Registered
2,280 Posts
Besides my regular job I'm a midwife assistant so I already hired my homebirth midwife... I've had two UCs before but my midwife is the bomb, it's not even remotely invasive.

6w ultrasound is where I'm starting off, so I still have a week and a half to even possibly get there. Hoping to heart heartbeat.

Reactions: valerievalira

·
Registered
3 Posts
My last was born at home, I will probably use the same midwife again, she is great (and also very non-invasive!) Our local birthing center is very small and delivery is done by midwives so it's nice to know if anything happens early we can go there. I will probably wait until I am 8 + weeks to contact anyone. The only person that knows right now is my partner.

·
Registered
50 Posts
@BirthFree that's awesome you've had UC's. I'd love to do that, hubby isn't on board at all.