Mothering Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
444 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When did you call a MW? Did/do you know who you are using already? We are blessed here in Minnesota to have a TON of midwifes, so I am sure I will find one, but how long do I have to look around? Do I want to make sure I have one by no later than 10-12 weeks or something like that?
This is my 3rd baby, but first homebirth, so thanks for any advice.
gabby

·
Registered
42,824 Posts
I just happened to be at my midwife's house a couple of days after a + test as she was having a labor day party for all her former clients. So I told her then. Otherwise I'd just now be getting around to calling her.

It really depends. In some areas some midwives fill up. It's never been a problem here that I've heard of.

With dd I switched at 30 weeks and there were several midwives who would have taken me at that time.

-Angela

·
Registered
5,218 Posts
This is my first time homebirthing, so I didn't have an established midwife already. I was pretty sure who I wanted to use, but still wanted to "interview" her to make sure we were a good fit. So I went ahead and called her when I was around 6 weeks, so we could meet for that. She actually encouraged me to meet with her soon, and I think that was in part so I could have a support person in place in case I miscarried. Even before we met, she said I could call her anytime, day or night. We met early this past week (I'm 8 weeks now), and I absolutely loved her and hired her on the spot. She said she usually does her first prenatal around 10-12 weeks, but she was pretty loosey-goosey about it, and said we could wait longer if I wanted. (We scheduled it for when I'm 10.5 weeks, simply because that was the date that worked best for both of our schedules.)