Mothering Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
563 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! So I am kinda new to GD and my LO is tiny and in new need of any discipline of any kind. This summer I am going to be taking care of a unruly 6 year old boy. This child is sooooo difficult! I had him last week for Easter break and I just don't know what to do to get through to him. The real problem is that his parents don't stick to any kind of discipline plan. They are all over the place.... It makes it so hard for me to come in and watch him for 5 hours a day and expect him to listen to me.

Last week when I asked him nicely to stop eating dog food he just continued to do so. When I removed it from him, he went after it. Climbing all over to get it even though I said "NO, Please don't do this." When he was hitting the dog with a baseball bat and still would not listen to me. I asked him to go spend some time in his room and think about what he was doing. He refused to go to his room and when I tried to talk it out with him, he covered his ears and screamed "la la la, i'm not listening." URGGGHHHH how do you deal with that? (Especially since he's not my kid...)

Any advice would be welcome! Thanks

·
Registered
7,246 Posts
Honestly, I probably wouldn't watch him, particularly if you have a new baby and he's done something as violent as hit an animal with a baseball bat. I wouldn't consider it safe to have him around the baby. But if I did watch him, I'd have stuff like baseball bats put somewhere he can't get to them.

·
Registered
270 Posts
Sorry but a kid who beats animals with a baseball bat is severely disturbed and no amount of money in the world would motivate me to let him in my home near my pets and my children.

This kid needs therapy, and I would definitely tell the parents to make other childcare arrangements.

·
Registered
35 Posts