Mothering Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3,286 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
SO we are going GFCF because ds1 is on the spectrum and we really feel it will make a big improvment in behaviour. We are weaning into right now and I am about to need to get some flour. I got the autism cookbook and a few others and I am really excited. But I am having a hard time with going from one or two flours to 7 or so. What do you have and what is not neccasary or could be substuted? Thank you so much!

Brown rice flour
white rice flour
sweet rice flour
tapioca starch? ( where in the world...)
potato starch?
chick pea flour
amaranth flour
gluten free flour

Where do I get xanthan gum?

Thank you for the help here, total newb!

·
Registered
1,339 Posts
eesh, i never got into the cookbooks that use a mixture of 20 flours. It makes it so difficult to cook anything that I would end up not making food at all. I stick to Bob's Redmill mixes--and others. There is really nothing you need to make that you can't make with a pre-prepped mix. I buy Xanthum gum from out health food store, but you may be able to find it in the baking section of a grocery store.

·
Registered
10,747 Posts
We use tapioca starch, sweet potato starch, sorghum flour, light buckwheat flour, and millet flour. We can't use rice flours because my DS can't do rice and my kids can't do quinoa (though it was actually a good flour) and I don't like the taste of the bean flours. I use just buckwheat in my buckwheat waffles.

We get our tapioca starch from Barry's Farm or our local Asian market (much cheaper). Rice flours and rice noodles are cheaper there too.

I get sweet potato starch from Barry's Farm as well (we can't do white potato because of DS). I find it the best thing in gravy and stews.

I get light buckwheat flour from Bouchard Family Farms (Maine, I believe). I like it much better than regular buckwheat flour.

Sorghum flour is from Bob's Red Mill.