Mothering Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,587 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am tentatively thinking of trying to modify my Patapum to make it more toddler friendly. I desperately need a taller carrier for my extremely tall 20 month old. He almost flipped out of it a couple days ago when he leaned back. The back of the carrier only comes up to about his mid back, and it is getting a little dangerous to have him in there if he is getting wiggly.

I am thinking of cutting the carrier back in half and adding some length with some heavy canvas. I have some sewing experience and in theory, I think it would work, but I am so scared to completely ruin it, or make it dangerous to use. I have been checking out tall carriers online, and there is no way on earth that I can afford a new one. I would also like to sew a panel to the back to make it nicer looking too. Right now it is just plain boring black.

Tell me I am not crazy for even thinking of doing this...

·
Registered
3,455 Posts
I don't think it's crazy! I just think you should be really sure to get a very strong thread and do lots of extra stitching (triple, maybe). If there is any weakness in the sewing, it's not like it's going to burst all at once with your toddler crashing to the floor - you'll see stitches popping before it gets that bad!

·
Premium Member
4,587 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Quote:

Originally Posted by Limabean1975 View Post
I don't think it's crazy! I just think you should be really sure to get a very strong thread and do lots of extra stitching (triple, maybe). If there is any weakness in the sewing, it's not like it's going to burst all at once with your toddler crashing to the floor - you'll see stitches popping before it gets that bad!
That was what I was thinking, but I was afraid someone was going to say the carrier police would come after us. I think I may try it out this weekend.