Mothering Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
18,562 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Yeah, I finally get to post something after a long break! lol!

My friend had an adorable baby on Saturday and wants to cloth diaper. I gave her Abi's old infant prefolds but the rather large and wide 10 pound baby is barely fitting in them. She was going to use infant prefolds until she made up her mind what kind she wanted to get next. She is going to have to order something fast though, I give her 2 more weeks max. in the infant prefolds.

Her baby is nursing, nursing, nursing, and wetting majorly. Soaking the infant prefolds. Abi was a light/moderate wetter so I have no real experience with heavy wetters. What can my friend get that won't break the bank?

She is most interested right now in the concept of onesize dipes. I loaned her a couple ME OS to try but I am guessing the baby will soak them if she's that heavy of a wetter. She also likes the simplicity of prefolds but the premium ones are very, very bulky on the baby right now as you can imagine. She's not sure they will hold the pee flood either. Still trying them out.

Suggestions? Links? I'll get her over to this board when she's feeling better. As you can imagine she's a little sore and mostly lying down taking it easy.

Darshani

·
Registered
946 Posts
I'm not sure if you've ever diapered a newborn or not but I was in SHOCK when I diapered mine. My first wasnt CD until she was 2 months so when the second one came around I was surprised at how wet they were!

I changed a NB dipe every hour and when I posed asking if this was normal- apparently, it is.

Maybe add a doubler to get a little more in there without too much all round bulk (A folded terry wash cloth on the outside of the dipe between dipe and cover worked well for me too in a pinch)

You might also want to introduce her to pocket dipes... the inside can be soaking wet and her baby wont be so soaked and clammy. She can still use the prefolds too

HTH