Mothering Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,446 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We're in Hawaii, on a vacation, and Dh really over did it with the sun. He got burned and the last 2 days he's felt awful. Chills, really tired, sometimes nausea, little appetite, headache. Basically he's been in bed.

Tonight, I called a couple immediate care places and one said we could only come in the morning because we have to make an appt. since it's not an emergency. what!? ...but that if he needs IV fluids, they can't do that, we have to go to the hospital. When I called the 2nd place I told them what was wrong and the lady on the phone was like "What do you mean he's dehydrated? Is he going to need IV fluids?" I'm like, umm, I don't know, I'm not a doctor, that's why I'm calling you! Anyway, they seem less than competant, and the hospital is a 40 minute drive and Dh doesn't want to go that far.

What should I do? I've got him drinking water and gatorade. (I wasn't really reminding him to drink, like I had been doing at the beginning of the trip, and I realized he wasn't drinking enough after his big sun day.....so now it's back to the constant reminders) I think I'll head to the store and get a thermometer.

Any advice?

·
Registered
6,956 Posts
He can drink, right? Have him drink lots of electrolyte containing drinks - gatorade, propel, there are some waters with electrolytes in them. Also, keep him cooled off - he's gonna loose a lot of fluid through evaporation. A nice lukewarm bath or putting cool (not cold, cool to tepid) towels on his chest and back can help - obviously not if he has blisters there.
Can he pee? That's a big warning sign if he cannot make urine enough to pee.
It's not really something that you can work with over the internet - he might have to go in if he gets worse. Your looking at heat exhaustion vs. sunburn and trying to determine the extent.

·
Registered
1,446 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I just got a thermometer his temp is 102.7