Mothering Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
663 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
<p>I will try to make this as concise and unemotional and possible. </p>
<p> </p>
<p>I have a 20 month old. She is very high energy. She is friendly and cheery too.</p>
<p> </p>
<p>My problems are </p>
<p> </p>
<p>1.** She won't STOP doing things. Example, playing with the dog food and water-over and over we tell her not to. Today she kept closing the computer while I was on it. She also climbs on top of tables, is rough with the dogs etc.</p>
<p> </p>
<p>I don't know how to discipline her. So far "no" has been what we do. It hasn't been too much of a problem but now I feel like there was some subtle shift and she and/or I need more leaning about NOT doing things.</p>
<p> </p>
<p>HOW on earth do I do this??!! I have no experience with this age. I have heard that they can not yet stop themselves from doing things at this age. She is so young and doesn't understand everything. I know she understands "no" in some ways. She will ALMOST do something she is not suppose to and says "no, no, no" to herself or me. It is actually very cute and smart.</p>
<p>So, again HOW to you teach a child to not do things? Consequences? Time out? If I remove her from the kitchen she will stop for the moment playing with the dog food but it does not keep her from doing it later. I am not sure I like the disconnectness of time-outs and if I was going to put her somewhere then how to you keep the negative association away. I don't want her to hate her chair (more) because she has to sit in it if she plays in the dog food but then again how else to I control her? Here is another example of today-I was going to the bathroom, she pulled the closet doors off their track and while I was trying to fix that she climbed up to stand on our (tall) dining room table and threw salt everywhere.</p>
<p> </p>