Mothering Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
254 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone have any advice for me? My 6 week old DD is sleeping so well at night, only waking me once to feed her. It's usually about 3-4am, and when she's done she rolls over next to DH and falls back asleep. However, *I* am awake until I get up at 6 to go to work!!! I usually can fall asleep about 5:45. This has happened for the last 3 nights and I am, needless to say, really feeling it. I'm a teacher so I need to be on my toes and not listless like I've felt the last few days.
: It didn't matter in the summer because I could sleep during the day, but now I don't know what to do and I REALLY don't want to take meds. That would also be bad for the co-sleeing issue. I don't want to be so out of it that I roll over onto her or something. Any suggestions or do I just have to deal with this and be tired everyday?

·
Premium Member
2,858 Posts
Mayamama, I'm not sure this will be a popular opinion
: , but it's what worked for us.
After she nurses her fill in bed, I put DD in a bassinet that is pulled up right beside our bed. She is just two feet away from me, but for whatever reason, having her not be actually IN my bed lets me sleep. Then when she wakes again to eat I just put her back in our bed and keep her there. By that point I've already established sleep for the night and can get back to it. But to this day I have trouble going to sleep with her in the bed, even though I wake up with her in it every morning.
Good luck!

·
Registered
4,535 Posts
I have dealt with this problem a LOT!! Even if the kids are sleeping well, if I'm woken up, I can't get back to sleep, knowing that my alarm is set and I'll have to wake up soon! Just counting the hours and minutes! Whatever you do, don't look at the clock when you wake up.