Mothering Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
<p>My son is going to be having a neuropsych exam later this month and they asked for all his previous test results. So i started going through his IQ test from when he was almost 8 years old. (he is 11 now).  He scored in the 99.7% for verbal comprehension tests, the 95% for the  percecptual reasoning tests, the working memory sections he scored in the 84% for Digit Span but the 91% for L-N sequencing.  The discrepancy is in processing speed.  His symbol search score was in the 37% and the really concerning score was his Coding, which was in the 16th percentile!!! </p>
<p> </p>
<p>What does such a low coding score compared to such high verbal an perceptual reasoning suggest?</p>
<p> </p>

·
Registered
1,499 Posts
<p>I am not an expert, but I do know that subtests should not be interpreted individually.  It might indicate an area of lesser ability, but this subtest combines with others to give the complete "Processing Speed" index, from my understanding.  If I remember, this subtest differs from the others in that index because it requires a lot of back and forth looking, then scanning and copying.  I think the others focus more on scanning in different ways and eliminate the jumping from one part of the paper to the top and back.  This may be an area of increased difficulty for your ds, but his performance could also have been impacted or exaggerated by other factors like fatigue or motivation.  If he seems to compensate for any increased difficulty, then I wouldn't worry too much about it but just keep it in my head as something to know about his learning style. Everyone has areas of strength and need and some discrepencies are vast; it's how we deal with them and compensate that makes or breaks us. </p>
<p> </p>
<p>Hopefully people who are more knowledgeable will chime in.  Hope his testing all goes well!</p>

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter #3