Mothering Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,152 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all!

So here's the situation, I have a 3 month old preemie (he came 5 weeks early so think 2 month old) that can't really hold his own head up too well yet, but wants to be held every minute of the day. I have back problems that make me go to the chiropracter on a 1x a week basis, so I need something that uses both shoulders. I'm 4'9" so I can't do bulky and the one size fits all thing doesn't apply to my tiny torso.

I tried the New Native but that was a disaster for my back.

Tried the baby bjorn, which my DH loves, but its just too big and bulky for me.

I tried The Ultimate Baby Wrap and had the most success with this, I think wraps might be the way to go, but this is VERY stretchy and DS keeps sliding down unless I tighten it until its uncomfortable for me, plus he bucks against it, oy.

So what do you think folks? I'm new to the wrap thing, so I'm all ears...

·
Registered
116 Posts
hmmmm....I've been using a stretchy wrap for my little guy (3 months...maybe 13 pounds or so??) and haven't had any major problems with him sliding down. I'm using a Moby. But I also have a homemade cotton wrap that I've just started using...it definitely keeps him nice and snug. I've just recently let him face out now that his neck is stronger, and he likes that better than facing in.
Anyway, so maybe a not-so-stretchy wrap would help? Sorry I can't recommend a specific one, since the Moby is the only wrap I've purchased.

·
Registered
2,703 Posts
I was looking into stretchy wraps a while back, and the reviews of the Ultimate Baby Wrap over at thebabywearer.com were really bad. People were complaining that it's way too stretchy, which sounds like what you're struggling with too. For stretchy wraps, many people love the Moby Wrap and the Hug-a-Bub.

·
Registered
837 Posts