Mothering Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,043 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been using my mama pads for about 4-5 months and the last 2 cycles I've had I noticed that they tend to have this 'fishy' smell even when I change them very frequently. So I did some hot washes and even threw in a glug of bleach because the smell wouldn't go away even after several washes. I thought the bleach took care of it, but after using them again and a regular wash they stink again
My wash routine is: dry pail and wash with my dd's diapers every day, first a cold prewash then a hot wash and 2 more cold rinses. My daughters dipes don't have stink... Anyone have any advice? Is there a better way to wash the pads? What about hydrogen peroxide? Does it help with stink? I would prefer not to use the bleach if I can avoid it... I don't care about stains just don't like the stink, that was part of the reason I switched to cloth, I couldn't stand the disposable pad smell. Thanks for any hints you may have for me

·
Registered
473 Posts
Are they fishy before you use them?

If so, try soaking overnight in baking soda (about 1 part soda to 8 parts water)
then soak the next night in vinegar at the same ratio

then report back ;->

If they are not smelly until you use them, you may have an infection. Many infections can be more or less asymptomatic, but odor is usually a sign.

·
Registered
1,043 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yes, they're fishy before I use them, like they're not coming clean properly... I forgot to say that we have very hard water and we used to have stink with the diapers but I worked the wash routine out so they don't get stink anymore. I don't think it could be an infection, I'd know
and there's no smell otherwise... also I just had a gyn appt. and everything was ok. I'll try the soak with bs and vin though. Thanks

·
Registered
473 Posts