Mothering Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

· Registered
1,568 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been using my mama pads for about 4-5 months and the last 2 cycles I've had I noticed that they tend to have this 'fishy' smell even when I change them very frequently. So I did some hot washes and even threw in a glug of bleach because the smell wouldn't go away even after several washes. I thought the bleach took care of it, but after using them again and a regular wash they stink again
My wash routine is: dry pail and wash with my dd's diapers every day, first a cold prewash then a hot wash and 2 more cold rinses. My daughters dipes don't have stink... Anyone have any advice? Is there a better way to wash the pads? What about hydrogen peroxide? Does it help with stink? I would prefer not to use the bleach if I can avoid it... I don't care about stains just don't like the stink, that was part of the reason I switched to cloth, I couldn't stand the disposable pad smell. Thanks for any hints you may have for me

· Registered
1,568 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yes, they're fishy before I use them, like they're not coming clean properly... I forgot to say that we have very hard water and we used to have stink with the diapers but I worked the wash routine out so they don't get stink anymore. I don't think it could be an infection, I'd know
and there's no smell otherwise... also I just had a gyn appt. and everything was ok. I'll try the soak with bs and vin though. Thanks

· Registered
1,568 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Ok, I'll try the bs soak tonight, do I wash them with detergent in the morning after the soak? Also, if they don't smell in the morning should I even bother with the vinegar? I've heard of it giving probs with hard water before too. What do you think my regular maintenance should be from here on out? Thanks so much for your help

· Registered
1,568 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Quote:

Originally Posted by chasmyn