Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Other (please describe)

Votes: 0 0.0%
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just noticed that JoAnn's is having the suedecloth sale tomorrow. I'd like to get some, and probably will anyway. But I haven't "used" a diaper since I'm new to it all and pregnant with #1. What do you all like to use for the inside of a pocket diaper?

Microfleece, suedecloth, flannel, or something else?

I was gearing on using my flannel, since I have some at home, and buying a little microfleece as a topper, to save $$. But the suedecloth is a great price I see, and really NEED opinions so I don't buy too much or too little. Also if you could, do you think you could use the suedecloth as the topper? or would it not work well like that?

Please tell me why you would recommend what you would/do use.

·
Banned
1,288 Posts
I prefer suedecloth over microfleece because it's easier to sew. It doesn't stretch as much as MF, so that makes it easier for me. I like that SC doesn't pill like MF does. Both seem to be equal as far as stay-dryness (is that even a word
) goes. Plus, SC is cheaper. They work equally well for the inner layer of pockets IMO.

But, I think flannel is perfectly fine for the insides of diapers. Not all babies are sensitive to being wet and not all babies like the stay-dry fabrics. My DS never seemed to care one way or the other, but now, at 19 months, he very obviously prefers all cotton next to his skin, so I have to replace the 15 or 16 diapers we have with something that doesn't have SC or MF.

Why don't you pick up some SC, but still try a couple of diapers with flannel and MF? That way you can get and idea of what you like.

·
Registered
2,025 Posts
Hehe, just the opposite of above.

I found the suedecloth lined diapers 'attracted' wierd lint and fibery bits and I didn't like the feel at all, after a few washes, however all the microfiber fleece (chamois weave) has never pilled and stayed really nice and soft....