Mothering Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4,975 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
not every time, but several times in the last week. dd is 5 weeks old and refuses to be consoled when she wants to nurse... but she'll nurse so much that she overfills
I really don't want to use a pacifier, but don't know what else to try. AND its not just a little spitup either - yesterday she puked up enough to soak her outfit, my velour pants and underclothes, and a UBCPF I was using as a burp cloth. she's gaining fine and is otherwise a very happy baby. suggestions?
:

·
Registered
782 Posts
eeww, I'm having flashbacks of the smell! Now, from experience and a few other BF moms I know, our little ones puked all the time. Sometimes a little spit up and sometimes like the spewing you described. I am not an expert, but these BFed babies spit up alot. And my are they greedy with their milk! I can only say maybe to pull baby off, get some air, maybe a burp, and then back on. If there is alot of crying when you try that, maybe wait until the 'drunken stage'? Since she is still so little, I can think it will probably ease up as she gets a little older. My dad called my son Vomitus cause he puked all the time, everywhere. Sometimes it can't be helped, other times, for lack of better suggestions ( I apoplogize, but you are not alone) maybe not let her eat so much, maybe several smaller nursings?

Know that others have been there, have plenty of towels and wipes handy and good luck! I didn't use a pacifier either!

·
Registered
611 Posts
Now, don't quote me on this, but I seem to remember someone mentioning over nursing, and the vomiting, as a sign of reflux. From what I recall the baby will keep eating because it makes them feel better and then spit it all back up when it becomes too much for their tummies.

Might be something to keep in mind, not sure if it is a myth or not.

Hope it gets better soon!
MM

·
Registered
169 Posts