Mothering Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
283 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know, I know, I can hear it already, scheduling is bad bad bad. I KNOW that. I bf dd on demand all day long, usually every hour or so. Well, I HAVE to start back to work in a week and a half. I have tried deperately for her to take a bottle, with no success. I have tried a million different ones it seems like. Well, I am pretty sure my boss will let me feed her on my planning period and my lunch break (I'm a teacher). Which means I will drop her off at daycare at about 7:30, then I can come feed her at 9:30 and again at 12:00. Then I will pick her up at 3:30 to come home.

If she won't take a bottle, she is going to have to learn to eat at those two times, and fill up, not just nurse for a few minutes. Please, any suggestions? I am panicking and stressing so much I can't stand it! I wish I didn't have to work, but that isn't an option. Neither is having her brought up to me every hour. Those are the only two times I have.

Thanks.

·
Registered
2,176 Posts
First of all- don't worry. My DS refused anything to do with a bottle before I went back to work, but it didn't take long to convince him the first day back. He would never take a bottle when I was anywhere near- and somehow he knew if I was just out taking a walk or if I was gone for the day. So there is still a chance that she will take a bottle in your absence.

Some babes are picky about the type of bottle or nipple- you might want to try a bunch of different kinds. Other things to consider- how old is your babe- could you try EBM in a small cup, a sippy cup, or a dropper? Even newborns can cup feed from very small cups.