Mothering Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a public school teacher. I have four children, three who are in school and doing great. However, my son suffers from SEVERE school anxiety. I will be homeschooling him.

There are so many different options out there! I have no idea where to start and need/want opinions on your experiences.

I don't mind the public school curriculum...however, it moves too fast for him. I am looking for something with some support (especially in math!!)

What are your experiences? Please share. I'm so overwhelmed with what is out there and want to choose the best program for him. I'd like him to be able to move at his own pace.

THANK YOU!

·
Registered
7,681 Posts
Hi Lana, and welcome to the big adventure!

The most important thing you can probably do at this point to help your son and yourself is to deschool. Deschooling is probably harder for teachers and others who have thrived walking the mainstream route of institutional education than it is for others. I spent 19 years being a success in schools of various sorts, so I definitely know how hard it can be to change one's perspective. Deschooling isn't about becoming anti-school. It's about recognizing how much of what goes on in schools is about large-group, out-of-home, age- and ability-levelled logistical efficiency. And yet those of us who have grown up in the school system tend to view these ideas as being essential to learning in the more general sense.

I'm talking about assumptions like
  • kids who are struggling in one area should devote extra time and energy to that area
  • kids need to be pushed to learn in areas where they're reluctant so that they don't fall behind
  • math needs to be mastered systematically starting with simple skills and working forward gradually through a clear sequence
  • measuring learning through tests and grades is necessary to affirm mastery and identify weaknesses