Mothering Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
5,822 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ds has 2 teachers this year he adores. How much do you typically spend on holiday gifts for teachers and what do you typically get them? I was thinking a gift certificate might be good. It's a private preschool with a teacher and a director who acts as a second teacher.

·
Registered
8,864 Posts
Between my 3 girls there are 11 teachers.

I make a biscuit mix that they can use to make biscuits, muffins or pancakes(I send the recipies for them). They get 1-2 jars of jam. I'm also making beef jerky for the male teacher this year too.

Some teachers teach more than 1 of my kids so they get a little more. I get their main teachers something more, which is why I'm sending beef jerky for the male teacher. The other 2 main teachers are both vegetarian.

·
Premium Member
6,397 Posts
As a teacher I loved everything and though ornaments can add up year after year, those were my faves cause I get to look at them and think of the kids even years after they have moved on.

Homemade gifts- jar mixes, food, scarfs etc are always great

Gift cards for local places are nice as well.

Really, I loved anything. One year the family made bread that was their family recipe and I ate it all in one sitting.
:

·
Registered
2,815 Posts
I have to differ with pp - I was a high school teacher for many years (100+ students/year) and am now a school librarian in a school with 400+ students. I don't really like collectibles or knickknacks & these plus the ornaments get to be too much, I've received tons of costume jewelry which I can't wear, so I get overwhelmed with things.