Mothering Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
291 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm interviewing a few homebirth midwives soon and I was wondering if you guys could look over these questions. I read the sticky on top and I made my list very thorough but I'm wondering if I'm missing anything. I'm new to homebirthing so if I'm missing something important that you experienced ladies know about please let me know!

Name:
Interview date:
Experience
1.) How, when, and where did you receive your midwifery education?

2.) Is your certification in neonatal resuscitation up to date?

3.) How many births have you attended?
4.) Do you have guidelines or restrictions about who can give birth at home?
5.) What is your definition of high risk?
6.) When do I call you during labor?
7.) Do you work alone or with a partner or assistant?

8.) If you work with someone else, how would I get to know everyone who may attend my birth?

9.) If you work with several, what happens if I don't want one of them, or prefer one of them at my birth?

10.) How often will I see this assistant during pregnancy?

11.) What exactly is the assistant's role?

12.) How many mothers are due the same time as me?

14.) Do you have a maximum number of mothers you will work with at a time/in a month?

15.) How do you manage to avoid too many commitments?

16.) What do you do if two women go into labor at the same time?

17.) What is your back-up system during pregnancy and labor-when you go on vacation, are sick or with another mother?

18.) Have you ever missed a birth? If so, what were the circumstances?

19.) What is your communications system like?

20.) Do you have a beeper or cell phone? If not, how do I reach you?

21.) Are you available 24 hours a day at all times?
22.) How do you feel about water births?
23.) Is it ok if I have my other children/family present at the birth?

Prenatal Care

1.) What do you perceive your role to be during my pregnancy; and what are your goals for prenatal care?