Mothering Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am 32 weeks pg and would really like a vbac. My doctor thinks I'm a great candidate and is all for it (she had 2 vbacs herself). The problem is there are only 2 hospitals in the county and neither one allows vbacs - actually refuses to do them - therefore my doctor is not allowed to do it. Even if I was to present at 9 cm, hospital policy requires emergency C-section. I am a registered nurse that worked in L&D before having my son a few years ago and am not completely comfortable with non-nurse midwives, therefore in my community that rules out home birth. If we drove 45-60 minutes to Santa Cruz and I changed my OB (one with hospital priv's in SC), I could maybe do it. My questions are: do you think it's safe to commute that far? should I just go with what is planned (scheduled C/S)? am I crazy to change providers this late? will recovery really be that much easier (2 yr old son - nursing and cosleeping, etc...)? I get such mixed messages from everyone... please give me your honest feedback.
Thank you...

·
Registered
9,119 Posts
I drove four hours to have my vbac where I wanted to have it. But it was also a homebirth, away from home.

It's never too late to change providers, but what I would probably do in your situation, is to continue with the prenatal care your ob is providing, as long as she remains supportive of your desire to vbac. AND, I would hire a "non-nurse" midwife and plan a homebirth (it's really quite safe - http://gentlebirth.org/ronnie/homesafe.html ). I'd suggest you go and at least talk with some midwives in your area. Forget the medical profession's bias against them, and think about why it is that you have a problem with them. I would never consent to another cesarean without any real medical reason (that is, life and death situation).