Mothering Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

· Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am 32 weeks pg and would really like a vbac. My doctor thinks I'm a great candidate and is all for it (she had 2 vbacs herself). The problem is there are only 2 hospitals in the county and neither one allows vbacs - actually refuses to do them - therefore my doctor is not allowed to do it. Even if I was to present at 9 cm, hospital policy requires emergency C-section. I am a registered nurse that worked in L&D before having my son a few years ago and am not completely comfortable with non-nurse midwives, therefore in my community that rules out home birth. If we drove 45-60 minutes to Santa Cruz and I changed my OB (one with hospital priv's in SC), I could maybe do it. My questions are: do you think it's safe to commute that far? should I just go with what is planned (scheduled C/S)? am I crazy to change providers this late? will recovery really be that much easier (2 yr old son - nursing and cosleeping, etc...)? I get such mixed messages from everyone... please give me your honest feedback.
Thank you...

· Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Thanks for your reply. As a nurse (L&D) I really want all equipment and monitoring necessary to catch a problem early - I am not afraid of a C/S - I just don't want to end up under general with a baby in danger and bleeding out (UR) due to lack of montitoring. Also, pain control is an issue I don't want to deal with in labor - if I need medication, so be it. My doctor's view is definite IV, monitoring and epidural - just in case - I agree. In Monterey county there are a couple midwives, however they are not certified nurse midwives, therefore to the best of my knowledge they don't have physician backup/support - just drive you to the hospital and get the on-call doctor. Santa Cruz, next county up the road, is a different story. I'm calling around again today - once my decision is made, I just need to find a new OB.