Mothering Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,165 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have had a poodle pup for about 2.5 weeks now, and we are trying valiantly to housebreak her. I understand that she is a baby (10.5 weeks) and she pees constantly, has accidents, etc. We try to get her outside on a schedule that syncs with her eating and waking times, etc. Here is my issue: I can't always get her outside on time. I have 3 kids, my house is currently under construction for renovation of the entire 2nd floor, ( I know, bad timing but what can you do?) and I am a student, etc. Craziness! One wise older friend who has raised many dogs told me to paper train her for now, and when she is older she will prefer going outside. It is just to give her somewhere in the house to go while she is still sooo young. We will continue to take her out of course, but I laid some paper in the kitchen and she does go there... I feel it just gives her somewhere to go when I don't take her out, my fault not hers, etc. Thoughts? We are using lots of praise, and I think she is catching on, am I correct to assume she IS just a little baby and it takes patience and time... Some other friends really look down on paper training and accuse me of teaching her my house is her toilet... It is not quite like that, I see it more like giving a cat a litter box. We gate her in the kitchen for elimination and don't just let her roam and pee everywhere... She hangs out with us in
: other rooms after she has "gone".

·
Registered
11,573 Posts
I'm pretty dead against paper training. Are you using a crate? If you aren't using a crate then yeah, you're going to be hard pressed to get very far unless you can commit 95% of your time to the puppy for at least a month.