Mothering Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
505 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am just beginning to GD w/DS who is almost 14 mos old. This is new to me as I came from a punitive upbringing myself, so definite learning curve - in general I try to do a lot of redirecting, stay positive, keep DS's surroundings safe/kid-friendly so there is very little he would not be allowed to explore/do, etc...

But there have been a couple of situations where I have felt the need to usse "no" and a stern tone - first one, he was playing with the cat, and I usually just model "gentle touch". But this time, DS grabbed onto kitty's tail and started squeezing really hard. The cat "squealed" and was clearly being hurt. I literally had to pry DS's fingers from the cat's tail, and I said "NO grabbing, it hurts the cat". DS started to cry (I think he's very sensitive to tone, and I was VERY serious when I said it).

Second situation happened yesterday, I was baking and needed to put something into the oven. DS had been playing by the dining room, but as I opened the oven door all of a sudden he was right there, about to put his hand in. I immediately said "NO - don't touch - DANGER, oven is hot [he knows at least theoretically what hot is]", pulled him away and closed the oven door. Again he started crying.

Both times I picked him up, gave him a kiss and a hug, and said to him "sometimes Mommy has to talk in a serious voice to keep you from (danger) (hurting the cat)".

Both times I just acted on my instincts in the moment - do other GD mamas think my responses were appropriate, or do you think there are alternatives I could use in the future?

·
Registered
1,049 Posts