Mothering Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
875 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
dd is 2.5 months old and my only. i am new at staying home but all i do is tend to her. She sleeps on my bb and when i put her down she wakes and cries, ive tried it all

swing, sling, crib, bouncer,rocker, motion glider, strollers, crib play mat, boppy

she will not be ok with anything more than 2 min or so

im typing one handed now as she sleeps in my arms

getting out of the house and doing stuff help, but how the heck do people get anything done?

i have lists of chores i want to help with but,,,,,

thank god for dh's ocd
we have a clean house

i assume as she gets older it will get better? i feel like such a bad sahm
good mommy but bad "housewife"

·
Registered
2,776 Posts
1. Put her in a sling/front carrier/pouch and get your housework done while she hangs out.

2. Get used to doing things with one hand.

3. Lower your standards of cleanliness. You are not a 1950's sitcom mom.

4. Enjoy holding her and getting nothing done.
Soon enough she will be able to lie around on the floor on a blanket while you do stuff, or in a boucy chair, whatever. It just takes time.

·
Registered
1,714 Posts

Both of my boys are exactly as you describe your baby. I do everything one-handed, except for removing things from the oven, then I put the baby down (and he screams the whole time he's down). It gets easier eventually...DS1 is sleeping in his own room finally at age 6.

·
Registered
430 Posts
Yeah, get a sling or one of those Baby Bjorn things. You WILL get through this, I can promise you that.
And yes, it will get easier as she gets older. She can be your "helper".

·
Registered
586 Posts
Be realistic with expectations. She is only 2.5 mos old and you are deep in the throes of baby care.

I don't think you are going to get good chunks of time til she's about a year old. Then it gets easier.