Mothering Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6,212 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
for labor and the birth?
I'm annoyed with myself for even asking this question. But, it's been on my mind.
I'm due in a month, and the only class I have taken is the hypnobabies home study course, which is great, but i haven't made the time to practice like i should be. Also, throughout this whole pregnancy I have felt fearless about giving birth naturally, even though I have never done it before.
I have until my due date (sept 30) to practice the hb every day, and i plan to. But my gut is telling me to not rely on this method alone, but to use it as one of many tools to help me in labor.
I have read a ton about natural childbirth. I feel that I have educated myself more than I thought possible! I have surrounded myself with people here at MDC who also feel empowered to do this, or who have done it before, and who believe in the ability of women to do this.

But lately, I've been thinking "if it were to happen today, could i do it?" There's not really a way to know, is there?
How do I explain this? It's like there must be some magical checklist out there of all the things one must accomplish before labor starts in order to be ready and I'm afraid that I don't have everything checked off.
On the other hand, I feel like women are meant to do this, that we've been doing this since the beginning, and that I am no different.

Am I making sense? Any thoughts on this?

·
Registered
1,307 Posts
Mamaley:

I could have written this post! (Except for the hb part.) You see, I've been having the exact same doubts (and I have about 2 weeks left if I don't go past my past due date)! I advise you to also taylor sit, squat and do some mild exercises to stretch your perineal area. I already feel mine a lot stretchier. Maybe this is a little TMI, but dh is also helping by massaging my perineum with olive oil -- a weird feeling, but worth it if you think about it.