Mothering Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,005 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I keep seeing people say they side-car a crib to their bed. How do you do that?? We have a beautiful unused crib ... were thnkiing of getting a queen mattress ( we have a full now)... but I would be willing to try the crib as a side-car first!<br><br>
Thanks

·
Registered
1,241 Posts
I'm a newbie to MDC, but I think what people mean is what we tried with our dc (unfortunately "side-carring" didn't work, dc still wanted to snuggle BETWEEN us)...<br>
You take one side off the crib (normally the side that goes up and down to put dc in - like with a convertable crib, you'll be left with the headboard, footboard, and one side) and push the open side up against your bed. Simple! Can be effective, but like I said, my dc didn't want anything to do with it, hehe!

·
Registered
51 Posts
We just did this with our convertible crib that goes from a crib to a toddler bed to a double bed. We transitioned it to a toddler bed, but kept the mattress in the highest postion, the crib went in the corner with the open side out and we pushed our bed up against it. There is a small space between the crib mattress and the bed, but our 18 lb DD is not able to get stuck in it. I also swaddle her and have a wedge by her side so she isn't going anywhere. I find it works for half of the night, I just roll over to nurse her in the beginning, but by the middle of the night when her nursing frequency increases I just end up scooting her into the bed with me.<br><br>
I'm not sure how this would work with a crib that wasn't convertible, but I bet there are things you can do. Good luck if you try it out.

·
Registered
1,005 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the replies..<br><br>
Our crib doesn't have a side that moves down.. all sides are stationary and it does convert to a full bed but not a toddler bed..<br><br>