Mothering Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
126 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to CDing and have been getting my cute fluff in the mail (some new and used)
I know I should wash everything before having to use, but I have no idea on what to do. I have a mix of fitteds, AIOs, and proraps. Hope someone can help me out thx!

TT

Do I wash everything on hot with a 1/4 cup detergent?
How many times should I wash everything before using?
How can I tell if a used diaper needs to be stripped?
Can used diapers be made soft again?
Do new diapers bleed?
Must I line dry everything?
Anything else I need to do?

·
Registered
684 Posts
I don't know. Mostly the washing is to get the diapers to a very absorbant state. You're going to have a new little baby--who will likely not have enormous amounts of pee. You could likely get away with washing once or twice with 1/4 the detergent. Then, each time you wash them when theyr'e used, they'll become more and more absorbant. My daughter doesn't wet a lot at once.. and I only wash my diapers once before using--except prefolds.. which I use the 'prewash' option offered by the person I buy them from.

The used ones.. probably don't need to be washed many times, as they're already likely reached their more absorbant state.

·
Registered
2,909 Posts
Do I wash everything on hot with a 1/4 cup detergent?
I do - neverheard the "dont wash cotton and fleece together" tho

How many times should I wash everything before using?If it's hemp, wash 4-5 times if it has snap or do a shortcut if it doesnt (like insert - joeybunz for pocketdipes), boil several at a time for abt 20 min then wash a couple of times. Unbleached prefolds also have to be washed/boiled several times. Also, dry btwn each wash for best effect. Everything else, like plain cotton or sherpa can be washed once then worn