Mothering Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,963 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
About 4.5 years for me now. In ways, it's gotten harder, because XH went from being a good ex and dad to being a deadbeat. I don't receive child support and have a lot more juggling to do, and no longer get time to myself every other weekend.

However, the kids are older and more independent, I'm stronger in who I am, and XH doesn't scare me anymore. I have no regrets about our decision to end our marriage.

·
Registered
3,265 Posts
I've been separated since Sep 07, divorced almost a year now. Honestly, the single mom thing doesn't feel like the biggest change in my life. I'm living with my mom again, for one, and I'm getting food stamps (something I'd always been able to avoid before, along with the "why the hell do you have three kids and no job" stares). More importantly, though, I'm a college student. I had no college before. Which is a good thing, because I would have had completely the wrong attitude, and if I'd discovered philosophy before I had kids I'd have climbed up in an ivory tower somewhere and never bothered reproducing.
It's a change, but an enjoyable one. I'm on my way to becoming eventually self-supporting, with no adult to make happy but myself, and that's a wonderful thing.

·
Registered
12,633 Posts
5 years when dd was 18 months old.

its actually worked really well for us.

ex started improving since dd was around 3 and he is getting better and better. the thing dd has going for herself is his need for control and better. he doesnt want to look bad compared to me. he also loves his child. genuinely.