Mothering Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, everyone!

I've long-read through the posts on this forum, but this is my first time posting here. I'm hoping that someone can help me!

I need advice on how to cure my SAHM laziness. I've been staying at home for about 6.5 years. We have three kids, two of which I homeschool (third child is only 2). I can't seem to get motivated to do more than the bare minimum of work that needs to be done around here (laundry, homeschooling, meals). I'd much rather be on the computer or crocheting!

I KNOW that I need to do more, but how do I get myself to get up and actually do it? This isn't fair to my husband who goes off and works hard for our family everyday, and it isn't fair to our kids who have to live in a disorganized house (and I'm potentially setting them up for failure as adults by teaching them laziness).

Help! Any thoughts or ideas? Anyone been here and got out of the laziness slump?

Thanks!

·
Registered
2,233 Posts
Well, first, possibly expect a lot of "that's OK to be lazy" encouragement. I don't agree with that, however. Being home is not an excuse to be lazy (and it fills that horrible stereotype of SAHM) and I think it's wonderful you want more!

With that said, there are times when being behind happens...birth, newborns, illness, etc. We need to be realistic in those times, and easy on ourselves in that season. There are also times we can get into a rut that can take over and end up the new normal.

I find it helpful to remind myself if my job was for pay, I would do it to the best of my ability. What better reward than being home to cultivate little souls into adulthood?! Start small! Write or computer organize a daily cleaning/organization chart. Then a week, then a month. Then you can plan bigger projects, as well as daily laundry, kitchen, meal stuff, etc.