Mothering Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,517 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My 6-year old is soon starting kindergarten!
She LOVES to do crafts, and thrives on creativity. I don't do so well at it. I am an artist and craftsperson, but when it comes to child-appropriate crafts I am lost!
Any suggestions for links and books (with lots of pictures) that will help us make our homeschooling journey very messy and creative?

·
Registered
537 Posts
Lila,
This is by no means a craft book, but the information in Young at Art by Susan Striker may be of some use. It is geared towards toddlers, but it has an easy way to guide children through some basic art instruction that she says is useful even for kindergarteners. An example would be that letting your child paint with one color at a time, starting with black, and then working on combining them. The parent really does no more than providing the materials and letting the child explore. I think her color sequencing information is excellent.

Best wishes,
Sue

·
Registered
1,688 Posts
We LOVE Family Fun's Boredom Busters book. We checked it out from our library several times before finally just buying it. Their website has craft ideas too:
www.familyfun.go.com

·
Registered
529 Posts
Other than media that requires the precise use of sharp implements, caustic chemicals or fire, it's all child appropriate, if you don't cringe at the thought of a mess.

I'm sure there are lots of book on the subject and lots of links out there, but I'll throw out a few suggestions that we've enjoyed or have on our to-do list - the how-to info is out there for the googling.
  • use liquid RIT dye in squirt bottles and dye t-shirts or whaever you like (I don't suggest good acid dyes for this because of the caustic chemicals)
  • use your dryer lint to make a lint-mache model of a butterfly or ant or whatever (we made a butterfly while we were learning about them)