Mothering Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
157 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
<p>Hi everyone, I got a really embarrassing question that I hope I am not the only one with this problem. So I noticed in the last week or two every time I pee it smells like to the point that I don't even want to go pee cause I can't take the smell(sounds gross I know and I am sorry). I don't know why this is happening, I'm wondering if this has to do with what I am eating, however, I am not eating bad stuff. This is my first pregnancy so I don't have anything to compare it too..but its this a common thing or should I be worried?</p>
<p> </p>
<p>Any insight would be great...thanks</p>

·
Registered
3,214 Posts
you have a stronger sence of smell when pregnant so that could be why your pee smells stronger hun i've noticed that when i had a bad cough that when i had coughing fit i would pee a little and often had a chlorine/bleach smell to it so maybe pregnancy does make your pee smell different

·
Registered
1,712 Posts
<p>Maybe you're not drinking enough water or eating certain foods that make it smell stronger.  For instnace asparagus and other healthy foods can make it smell strong.</p>

·
Registered
175 Posts
<p>I've also been more sensitive to the smell of urine since being pregnant.  Sometimes I want to run out of the bathroom it's so annoying.  So far I've chalked it up to my nose being sensitive but it could also be the vitamins/DHA we're taking, too.</p>

·
Registered
3,200 Posts
<p>I'm so glad someone else said this! I can't STAND the smell of mine now that I'm pregnant! :lol</p>
<p> </p>
<p>It doesn't help that I take a medication daily that makes my pee smell a little like burnt plastic (seriously!) and now the smell is just intensified like 100 fold... UGGHHH. I have actually thrown up from smelling my pee.</p>

·
Registered
61 Posts