Mothering Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,270 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
... today when my toddler bit me during a tantrum.
: Thank goodness my mind connected with what my hand was doing and so I could stop myself before I spanked her.

I was really shaken up by the whole thing. I can't believe my instincts had me doing that. Please tell me I'm not the only one this has happened to.

I'm really new to the whole GD thing. My folks spanked us sometimes when we were little, and while I'm not upset about it, DH and I decided a long time ago (even before DD was born) not to go that route.

What do you do when you find yourself faced with heightened (pregnant) mama emotions during a tantrum or when your child is hurting you? She's still so young - I know she wasn't trying to actually hurt me.

I just need some strategies to ensure I never go down that road. Any advice would be appreciated!

·
Registered
63 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by spmamma View Post
I was really shaken up by the whole thing. I can't believe my instincts had me doing that. Please tell me I'm not the only one this has happened to.

It's perfectly natural. Look at nature. Look how our fellow mammals disapline their young. I myself always have an overwhelming urge to bite.
I control myself, but I'm not ashamed that I felt that way. You're not the only one at all. I actually did slap one of mine when the bit the nipple one time. I cried and cried about it (much more than my babe did!), but it happened in a split second. I didn't even have time to think about it. I also was never spanked as a child. I was an only child, and one of those oddly fantastic children, so I was never actually disaplined in any way. I never needed to be. Yet, I instinctively slapped one of my precious babies in response to being hurt. It's natural. You stopped yourself! You did great! And being pregnant with a toddler on your hands is a test and a half.

·
Registered
202 Posts