Mothering Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
807 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I have an almost 15 month old DD. When I am with her (I work 4 days/week) she nurses first thing in the AM, for both her naps, bedtime and then 1-4 times at night. When she is at daycare she takes a large bottle of breast milk before each nap. So...I am still pumping but I am noticing that I am not pumping the same volume that she is taking while at daycare. I have always had a HUGE supply and have actually donated milk to three different Mamas so this is a strange situation to be in. I am really torn...I want to stop pumping because it is tedious and I have been doing it for 14 months! But I don't want it to affect our breastfeeding relationship. I don't want her to drop any more feedings if she isn't ready. So, do I continue to pump twice a day while at work and if I run low just have them maybe mix a little alternative (hemp milk, goat milk etc) in with the breastmilk? Or do I stop pumping and just be ok with her have something else at daycare? Or do I ask daycare to give her a smaller bottle? I am confused because she obviously doesn't get that much (6-8 ounces) from me when I nurse her for her naps, so is she just taking that much because it is a bottle?? What are other mama's experiences with this?

·
Registered
425 Posts
I work 5 days a week and on those days dd nursed in the morning before/ after breakfast, sometimes right before drop off in the car, at lunch time (until she was 14 mo old) then as soon as we got home, nursed to sleep and then through out the night as needed/ wanted (pretty much whenever she wanted while we were together). The weekends were open to nurse when ever she wanted.<br><br>