Mothering Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
359 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm writting my birth plan, and I wanted to get advice on the section of circumcision. If you think I need to add anything else to help protect my son please let me know....

Also, Please see post #6, a little more info I should have added.

~Circumcision…I DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES CONSENT TO CIRCUMCISION. My son will be left intact and whole as God intended.
~Foreskin Care…My son's foreskin is NOT to be manipulated, or retracted in any way, shape or form by nurses, doctors, pediatricians, urologists or anyone else. Please keep your hands to yourself, and not touch my son's penis AT ALL. There is absolutely no reason or need for anyone to "See Inside," or "Just make sure" of anything. We will NOT tolerate anything less.

TIA!

·
Registered
560 Posts
I've been an OB nurse for 20 years and have seen countless birth plans. You want a birth plan that is short, direct, professional, and respectful.

I would strongly suggest softening your tone. It sounds accusatory and hostile, and considering the staff hasn't done anything "wrong", the wording seems too strong. The whole "keep your hands to yourself" bit seems sexual and completely inappropriate.

How about "We do not wish to have our son circumcised and do not consent to this procedure (or surgery, whatever you choose). Please do not retract or manipulate the foreskin in anyway during routine care or examinations."

Honestly, that is all you need to say. "We will NOT tolerate anything less" is really hostile and once you set this tone is becomes far more likely that people will stop reading.