Mothering Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What do you use to stuff your pocket diapers? I ordered from Nicki's diapers an assortment of pockets that each came with a micro terry insert and I have made my own pockets and stuff them with a Gerber PF that I had been given as a gift and never used til now. Problem is, all the pockets are leaking. I think the inside layer needs to be more absorbent. I have tried doubling up, but they are so thick! I am changing more frequently than disposables! I am new to this so any help or advice would be great! I thought I would just order some CPF diapers and see if they are more absorbent but need to know where to get the best CPF. Someone also said that adding a microfiber insert (like what you would by in an auto parts store) would work as a very absorbent inner layer... what do you think?

·
Registered
417 Posts
First off, with cloth diapers, you will have to change more frequently than in disposals. Sometimes a lot more frequently. So maybe you are leaving your baby in the pockets too long? For me, I give a pocket two hours max. Usually I change a lot sooner than that (occasionally it's longer if dd is with someone else), but I'm really anal about changing my baby as soon as I know she is wet.<br><br>
Also, you didn't say how long you've had your pockets. Could there be some detergent build-up on them? It depends what detergent you use, though. Another idea might be that you need to dry them on hot - that seals the needle-pricks from sewing, especially if you made some yourself.<br><br>
Lastly, I like to stuff my pockets with hemp inserts. They are super trim and very absorbent. I haven't used gerber prefolds, but I've heard they aren't too absorbent. You could also try some non-gerber prefolds, or make your own inserts out of microterry cloths, cotton terry, flannel, anything absorbent. Good luck!

·
Registered
7,279 Posts