Mothering Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
314 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,<br><br>
I have been lurking here for a few weeks and I finally have a few minutes (and courage) to post.<br><br>
I am a molecular biologist and I just finished my Ph.D. last August. My DH and I moved from Syracuse, NY to OH (we are both originally from Alabama). I got a post-doc position at Cincinnati Children's hospital and I am currently doing vision research there. My DD is 2 years old and she is a puddin. I am more of a mainstream parent with AP leanings, or maybe an AP parent with mainstream tendancies, but from what I've read on this board it seems like I might fit in here, even if I am not as crunchy as some.<br><br>
Recently I have been wrestling with making the decision whether to go part time or stay full time. I was considering just quitting because I feel kind of out of control right now. My commute is at least 1 hour each way (and that's if traffic is "perfect". It's often more like 3 hours total commute time). Some days I barely get to see DD and I am so exhausted that I can't do much but sit and watch her. DH's job is very hectic right now and I am getting mixed signals from him about how he feels about me working. On the one hand he complains that he doesn't have enough time and insinuates that I am expecting too much of him to pick up DD from daycare, drop her off etc (we alternate eary and late days so I can avoid rush hour traffic 3 days a week). On the other hand, when I told him I wanted to go part time he tried to line up interviews for me for FT jobs at his company- even though they are not really relevant to my experience, interest, and education. Also- he makes comments about how nice if would be if we both made really good salaries. Needless to say our relationship is showing some strain and I am confused and... well, I'll just say confused.<br><br>